Vedic Astrology - LetsDiskuss
Writer Of The Week          vitaly shvartzman       Questioner Of The Week      Alessia Fernandez
Create Blog

Vedic Astrology

About Vedic Astrology and Horoscope Predictions

Steve Hora

@ Expert in Astrology @ | Posted 06 Sep, 2018 | Astrology

Posted By: Steve Hora (Posted 19 Sep, 2018)

Where can I can start, to learn Vedic Astrology?

Vedic Astrology is a vast subject.

For a start you can use internet to know about it from a scientific point of view.

There are great modern authors who written books, which are really helpful to start with.

Dr. B.V.Raman books are a must.

Additionally this link has a PDF, which gives more information on astrology.

Posted By: Steve Hora (Posted 06 Sep, 2018)

What are the divisional charts or varga or amsa signify in Vedic Astrology

In Vedic Astrology, there are sixteen vargas or amsa or divisional charts, namely:

1. Rasi or D-1 represents: the body and all general matters of the native. This covers the 12 houses in the birth chart.

2. Hora or D-2 represents: Relates to the balance of Male / Female, Active / Passive, Individual / Social, Mental / Emotional balances.

3. Drekana or D-3 represents: Brothers, sisters, friends and alliances, like the 3rd house in the Rasi chart. Also our capacity to work hard, or in a group, to achieve some goal. Energy, curiosity, courage, prowess.

4. Chaturthamsa or D-4 represents: General well being, emotions, home and happiness, emotional contentment, psychological happiness.

5. Saptamsa or D-7 represents: Children and grandchildren, or the creative projections, creative capacity, and to what degree that shall endure or remain or be realized.

6. Navamsa or D-9 represents: Partnerships, the Spouses, and general fine tunings of the Rashi Chart. This is the most used, most important of the Varga Charts.

7. Dasamsa or D-10 represents: status, skill, vocation and career. The 10th lord should be strong here for good impact in life in terms of career.

8. Dvadasamsa or D-12 represents: Fate, destiny, past karma, parents, hereditary traits, past life influences. Used to judge last life, our underlying conditioning brought forward to this life.

9. Shodasamsa or D-16 represents: Shows a deeper level than the 4-Chaturtamsa in terms of the inner heart & psychology of the person.

10. Vimsamsa or D-20 represents: The religions of our past, the deities we are inclined to worship.

11. Chaturvimsamsa or D-24 represents: Spiritual capabilities or readiness, education, ability to meditate on higher things. Used for judging spiritual attainment capacity.

12. Saptavimsamsa or D-27 represents: A finer, deeper level of general judgement since these division are 3rds of Navamsas, or 12ths of Nakshatras. Used for fine tuning of general judgement.

13. Trimsamsa or D-30 represents: This chart deals with misfortunes, injuries, enmity, diseases. For discovering the hidden dangers in life. Lords of, and planets in bad houses should be judged herein to understand how they may do their work in life.

14. Khavedamsa or D-40 represents: Fine tuning of special auspicious and inauspicious effects, good and bad habits, particulars of the emotional and psychological natures, relates to the 4th house also.

15. Akshavedamsa or D-45 represents: Morals and ethics, and fine tuning general inidications. Also relates to 9th and 5th houses. Indicates which of the 3 main deities one will most reflect.

16. Shastamsa or D-60 represents: Used in very fine tuning of predictions and judgement, it’s subtle impact is felt in the cases of twins born just minutes apart. The special deities ruling these divisions have important sway on the individual.

Posted By: Steve Hora (Posted 06 Sep, 2018)

What the 12 houses of a horoscope signify?

The 12 houses significance are as below

1st house: Your physical appearance, body, complexion, intelligence, strengths & weaknesses, the head

2nd house: Overall state of our finances (savings, hoardable assets mainly), family lineage & wealth related to family, family values, quality of voice (sweet/rash voice, pitch & other features of voice), the facial features, throat area

3rd house: Our communication style & skills, hobbies, neighbours, relatives, siblings (in general), younger siblings (specifically), friends, professions related largely to communication (journalism, sales & marketing, book authors, etc.), our courage & capacity to handle uncomfortable situations in life, capacity to work towards one's goals, primary education

4th house: Comforts & convenience in life, mother, home, vehicles, residential amenities, peace of mind, close family relatives, landed property (immovable assets), home country, our place of residence, education (in general), high-school education (specifically), heart

5th house: Intellect, scholarship, creativity, romance, stage performances, children, speculative investments & businesses (any occupation that doesn't guarantee the monthly paycheck), stomach

6th house: Diseases, enemies, maternal relatives, loans, dealing with the competition & obstacles in life, disagreements, divorces, digestive system

7th house: Marriage, spouse, business contracts & partnerships, the kind of people you relate to, public recognition (fame)

8th house: Sudden events, drastic transformation, hidden things like hidden knowledge (occult, astrology, etc.),

hidden wealth (inheritance, insurance, lotteries, etc.), efforts regarding spirituality (meditation, penance, etc.)

9th house: Higher beliefs, world view, philosophy, religion, luck, long-distance journeys, pilgrimages, father

10th house: Occupation, career, means of livelihood, reputation, father

11th house: Fulfillment of goals & desires, professional friends & network circle, recognition in career, elder siblings

12th house: Staying in isolation, ashrams, jail, bed comforts (sleep quality, etc.), important house for spirituality, residence in foreign/faraway lands, house of behind-the-scenes things (research, addictions, meditation, etc.)

Posted By: Steve Hora (Posted 06 Sep, 2018)

Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology is one of the vedangas of the Vedas, the ancient Hindu scriptures. The vedangas are the six sciences that are studied in order to practice and understand Vedic teachings. In Vedic astrology, a person's destiny is determined by his/her karma, which is set forth in the cosmic design.

Vedic and Western astrology have some similarities, including the 12 signs of the zodiac, but Vedic astrology emphasizes the rising sign at the precise moment of birth rather than the 30-day sun sign. Also, the difference between the sun signs in the two systems of astrology is said to be 24 degrees, meaning that one might identify with a different constellation. In Vedic astrology, a master astrologer, known as a jyotish acharaya, uses a variety of charts to further refine the individual's horoscope.